Leave a comment

Church Going Thoughts for today

Missed church this week;  sometimes I just don’t feel comfortable being around people and so I stayed home and just browsed the internet.    I did hear quite a bit of the sermon on Periscope on my iPhone – but it isn’t the same as being there. 

I have attended a small group that meets each Wednesday and we see a video by Rev John Ortberg then there are discussion questions.  I need to actually make some friends in church and get some passion into my religion.  That is going to be hard for me to do as I have lived here in New York for 46 years and have made no friends at all – yep I am quiet and unexciting.

I just hope that I don’t blurt something out that I will be embarrassed by or P*** people off.  I admit I have never been much of a Bible reader but I have been to enough Bible studies that I have a fledgling knowledge of many Bible Christian concepts. 

I know it is just another rationalized excuse but I sometimes think I could do better with church if I could find one with a more traditional service instead of the more modern music they all play today, but I know those older churches don’t exist anymore or they are dying out and not thriving.  I can’t remember the last time I heard the Lords Prayer or the Doxology during a church service . . . or even the Apostles Creed.   I know I have to accept things and to change but it is hard for me. 

Leave a Reply

