Leave a comment

From the “Upper Room” Keep your relationship with God fresh and alive

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.

– Romans 12:11 (NIV)

Today’s Devotional

I attend an exercise class three times a week. I spend time in aerobics and lift weights for muscle tone and strength. Some of the exercises are difficult to execute in the way our leader expects. I have a difficult time with curls and with holding weights at arm’s length. I cannot quite do some of the stretching exercises. I am improving; but without spending time concentrating and working on these exercises, I will not get the full benefit of the workout.

The same principle is true of the spiritual life. I strive to strengthen my faith through intentional practice by studying the Bible and reading Christian books. I try to be conscious of my surroundings and look for opportunities to witness to God’s love through my actions. I regularly attend church, Sunday school, and a Christian accountability group. I read scripture and a daily devotional every morning, comparing what I read and hear with my everyday life.

Even with practice, I sometimes struggle in my faith. Yet, I am improving. As I spend more time studying and seeking to do God’s work, I more fully live into the life of discipleship I have chosen.

Ruben G. Garza (Texas, USA)

Thought for the Day:

I will shape my life with Christian study and action.

Prayer: Steadfast God, help us to discern and to choose your will for our lives. Amen.

Leave a Reply

