Leave a comment

The Upper Room Dec 1st E- Mail

Today’s Devotional

Recently my wife and I were going through some old dishes to decide which were suitable to give away and which were unsalvageable. At one point, when I rescued a cup that had a large chip in the rim, she looked surprised. “It’s my favorite cup,” I told her. “It reminds me that we can be flawed but still useful.”

Throughout history, God has used people who were less than perfect. Moses was “slow of speech and tongue” (NIV). Rahab was a prostitute. David committed adultery with Bathsheba, then arranged to have her husband die in battle. Peter denied Jesus three times.

I also have many weaknesses and imperfections. And as I near retirement I am beginning to feel my age. My eyesight, hearing, and memory aren’t what they used to be, and the aches and pains are growing more frequent. But that doesn’t mean I can’t be useful. I can go into an uncertain future with confidence in my ability to keep serving the Lord because I know that God will be there with me.

Peter J. van der Linden (Iowa, USA)

Leave a Reply

